Facebook Privacy Chain Mail


FacebookIf you have been using Facebook the past few days, your news feed may have been bombarded with statuses denying Facebook the right to use their photos and other data, following and update to their terms and conditions at the beginning of the New Year. These statuses have notably been around since 2012 however remain to be fake.

Despite the belief of users, these statuses do not protect the content that they post and has absolutely no effect on changes to your account… although you may have less friends afterwards when you are deleted for annoying chain mail posts.

“Better safe than sorry is right. Channel 13 News was just talking about this change in Facebook’s privacy policy. Better safe than sorry. As of January 3rd, 2015 at 11:43 a.m. Eastern standard time, I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, or posts, both past and future. By this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates. DO NOT SHARE. You MUST copy and paste”

As to the accuracy of the post itself, Facebook ALREADY has the right to use anything you post as stated in their policy. The terms of usage you agree to upon signing up gives Facebook the right to use your photos and videos for the likes of self-advertising purposes. This just goes to show how many people actually read the terms of service when signing up to a website.

It is always a good idea to remember that nothing online is free, and even if you aren’t paying money for a service, you will be paying in personal details or the content that you post. The only way to stop Facebook having the right to your content is by deleting that content if it is already posted or never uploading it at all. It should be noted that if it has been shared, Facebook can still access it, hence why you should ALWAYS be careful of what you share online, regardless of your age.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.